Environment

Protecting the Environment
Being one of the ancient civilizations in the world, Egypt top ranks facing the global environmental challenges via saving energy, protecting air and water, reducing pollution in a proactive manner, saving protectorates , recycling human, agricultural and industrial wastes beside facing the challenges of global climate changes.
Energy and Sustainable Development:
The Ministry of State for Environmental Affairs in cooperation with all development partners locally and internationally, determine the vision and outlines of environmental policies and programs in the light of Egypt's economic and social changes and the challenges of a new era aiming towards sustainable development.
Air Protection
Below are activities to reduce air pollution:
  1. Control industrial emissions
  2. Noise control
  3. Control vehicles exhaust and in the following are the main achievements:
    1. Replacing the old taxis in Greater Cairo by new ones using natural gas.
    2. Examination of vehicles exhausts at traffic units
    3. Examination of vehicles exhausts on roads
    4. Examination of public transport buses
    5. Protecting the environment from the pollution emissions of motorcycles

More

Water Protection
Assessing water quality and pollution indicators identifying their sources in the Egyptian lakes and coastal water in order to protect living organisms in these areas. More
Recycling
Seeking a cleaner environment towards sustainable development Egypt uses technology to transform wastes into energy, which is one of the most important environment-friendly technologies in the field of waste recycling resulting from human activities, solid waste, agricultural or industrial activities or sewage water which harm the environment and cause water & air pollution. In this context, cooperation takes place between the Ministry of State for Environmental Affairs and all concerned entities to implement the recycling process. For more information about types of wastes and the recycling process please, visit this link.
Climate Change
Egypt faces the challenges of global climate change and its impacts on sustainable development in a spirit of responsibility taking effective and preventive measures as well as setting strategies and initiatives raising awareness to protect future generations from the threat of climate change.
E-government and Protecting the Environment
E-government provides government to government communication between government agencies to facilitate services to citizens leading to saving time and effort and contributing in reducing pollution caused by people transport to get the service and saving paper use thus preventing cutting a huge number of trees every day.

Environment Law No. 4 of 1994, that aims towards protecting the environment where the Ministry of State for Environmental Affairs monitors the involved entities to verify their abidance by law.
• As a proactive activity towards pollution reduction, the environmental impact assessment is done before establishing a new project.
The guide for applying for environmental impact assessment study is available through this link.
Protectorates map in Egypt, contribute with us in observing the presence of sharks in South Sinai protectorates by answering this survey.

حماية البيئة
كونها واحدة من أعرق الحضارات في العالم، تضع مصر مواجهة التحديات البيئية المعاصرة في مصاف أولوياتها من خلال توفير الطاقة وحماية الماء والهواء والحد من التلوث بصورة وقائية والحفاظ على المحميات الطبيعية وتدوير المخلفات كما تواجه تحديات التغيرات المناخية العالمية.
الطاقة والتنمية المستدامة:
تتولي وزارة الدولة لشئون البيئة بالتعاون مع كافة شركاء التنمية محلياً ودولياً تحديد الرؤية والخطوط العريضة للسياسات البيئية وكذلك برامج العمل ذات الأولوية في ضوء ما تشهده مصر من تغيرات اقتصادية واجتماعية وتحديات مرحلة جديدة في طريق التنمية المستدامة.
حماية الهواء
  1. مكافحة الانبعاثات الصناعية
  2. مكافحة الضوضاء
  3. مكافحة عوادم المركبات وفيما يلي أهم الانجازات:
    1. مشروع استبدال سيارات التاكسي القديمة بالقاهرة الكبرى بأخرى حديثة تعمل بالغاز الطبيعي.
    2. برنامج فحص عادم المركبات بوحدات المرور
    3. برنامج فحص عادم المركبات على الطرق
    4. برنامج فحص أتوبيسات هيئة النقل العام
    5. برنامج حماية البيئة من تلوث انبعاثات الدراجات البخارية

المزيد

حماية المياه
حيث يتم رصد ومتابعة دورية لنوعية المياه وتقييم مؤشرات التلوث وتحديد مصادرها في البحيرات المصرية والمياه الساحلية بغرض الحفاظ على الكائنات الحية بها. المزيد
التدوير
من أجل الوصول إلى بيئة أنظف و تنمية مستديمة تستخدم مصر تكنولوجيا تحويل المخلفات إلى طاقة والتي تعد من أهم التكنولوجيات صديقة البيئة في مجال تدوير المخلفات سواء كانت مخلفات الأنشطة البشرية، أو مخلفات صلبة، أو زراعية أو صناعية أو سوائل الصرف وغيرها والتي كان التخلص منها يضر بالبيئة ويسبب تلوثا للماء والهواء. وفي هذا الإطار تتعاون وزارة الدولة لشئون البيئة وكافة الوزارات المعنية لإتمام عملية التدوير. وللتعرف على نوعية المخلفات وكيفية تدويرها برجاء زيارة هذا الرابط.
التغيرات المناخية
تواجه مصر تحديات تغير المناخ العالمي وآثاره على التنمية المستدامة بروح المسؤولية واتخاذ تدابير فعالة ووقائية وصياغة الاستراتيجيات والمبادرات وعمل التوعية اللازمة لحماية الأجيال في المستقبل من خطر التغيرات المناخية.
الحكومة الإلكترونية والحفاظ على البيئة
إن تأدية الخدمات الحكومية في أماكن تقديمها لا يسفر عن إنفاق الوقت والجهد فحسب وإنما يسفر عن أضرار بيئية من تلوث و إهدار للأوراق مما يساهم في قطع أعداد هائلة من الأشجار لصناعة الورق كل يوم والذي يزيد من التلوث. وهنا يأتي دور الحكومة الإلكترونية التي توفر الاتصال الإلكتروني بين الجهات الحكومية بالدولة تيسيراً على المواطن للحصول على الخدمة كما توفر له الوقت والجهد وتساهم في المحافظة على البيئة.

•يعمل قانون البيئة رقم 4 لسنة 1994 على حماية البيئة ووضع العقوبات الصارمة للمخالفين له كما تقوم وزارة الدولة لشئون البيئة بالمراقبة والتحقق من التزام المنشآت بالقوانين والتشريعات البيئية السارية.
• وللحفاظ على التنمية المستدامة والحد من التلوث بصورة وقائية يتم تقييم الأثر البيئي للمشروعات الجديدة وإتاحة الدليل الإرشادي لإعداد دراسة تقييم التأثير البيئي الكاملة للقطاعات المختلفة متمثلة في هذا الرابط.
خريطة المحميات الطبيعية في مصر، ساهم معنا في رصد ظاهرة تواجد القرش بمحميات جنوب سيناء من خلال الإجابة على هذا الاستقصاء.